Sick Free Kindle Fire Giveaway!

November 30th marks a very important day for me. On this day, exactly four years ago, I arrived in Denver ready to start my new life as a recovered alcoholic. It was a fresh start for me, a chance to start over. I didn’t know anyone in Colorado, but it didn’t matter. I figured as long as I stayed sober, I’d be okay.

Since then, I’m happy to say that all the Promises they talk about in AA have come true for me. I met the girl of my dreams—fell in love with her and her beautiful daughter. I began my creative pursuits as an actor and writer. I starred in a couple Indie films and even published my first full-length novel.

Yep, I’d say Denver’s been pretty good to me, which is why after 6 short months of trying to “make it happen” out here in Los Angeles, I’ve decided life’s too short to spend without the ones you truly love. So, once again, I’m packing up my little Toyota Corolla and heading back for the mountains of Denver, CO.

Since this is such a huge milestone for me, I wanted to do something special. And what better way to celebrate than with some ole fashioned American consumerism?

On November 30th (Friday) I’m going to give away a FREE KINDLE FIRE preloaded with my top five favorite books about substance abuse/addiction:

To win, all you have to do is click the following link on Rafflecopter which will take you to the contest entry form. You’ll find a few tasks to complete with different orders of point value. The more tasks you complete, the better your chances of winning the KINDLE FIRE. Second prize is a $25 Amazon Gift Card. Third prize is a signed copy of my book, Some Are Sicker Than Others. Winners will be announced Friday, November 30th. But you don’t have to wait until then to enter the contest. ENTER TODAY TO IMPROVE YOUR CHANCES.

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to send me an email:  aaseaward@gmail.com

GOOD LUCK! 

40 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Closed the Cover and commented:

    In May, 2012 I read Andrew Seaward’s book, “Some Are Sicker Than Others” and it left an impression on me in a way that very few books actually do. If you’ve been following me over the last 6 months I know you are familiar with his book as I’ve talked about it repeatedly. Today I discovered that he is running a giveaway for a Free Kindle Fire (among other prizes). Please go, visit his blog, check out his book, and enter his giveaway. A few of the entry options require that you “like” him on Facebook or like or tag his book on Amazon. I promise you that this is one author worth supporting, one book worth reading and one giveaway you don’t want to miss!

  2. Margot C

    This is awesome, I read a chapter that I found on the net already. You have done a portrait of so many of the realities of addiction and step-life that seems a bit familiar to me! (well done)

  3. i have been through AA meetings with my mom alot when I was younger, its a really hard thing to do!!!!! I’m proud of you, I can’t wait to read Some are sicker than others!!!! I’m a bookaholic :D!!!!

  4. In the rafflecopter form, it did not provide space where I could give you the email add I used to follow your blog with, it’s chericenter-******************** [at] yahoo [dot] com. Thank you for the chance to win!

  5. nancy chartrand

    Without reading the book I was unable to answer your rafflecopter questions, and yes my curiosity is peaked, and I will be looking for a copy of your book (with any luck i will win one fingers crossed).. I have not switched to kindle yet, I can’t afford one as I am off work awaiting back surgery. I’ve been struggling with questions regarding addiction, wondering how on earth anyone would try something so stupidly addictive as crack.. In 2005 we were abandoned by my husband without a goodbye, and when he did finally phone and told me someone was looking for him with papers he wanted to know what they were for, and i said custody, he told me he never got them because he lost his apartment, his phone, his job and was basically living on the streets and that he was on crack, but found a girlfriend and was recovering.. The calls stopped and then he died in 2010 of a heart attack, with so many unanswered questions.. His death was very hard on the kids, and on myself as well, suffering through every emotion like guilt, and anger, and denial, His girlfriend’s daughter tried to blame me for the reason he didn’t call, and then the children played the blame game. I guess I am trying to reach the “acceptance” level of grieving, and I am hoping your book will bring me the kind of insight I need to forgive him and to forgive myself. I probably should not be so openly candid about my feelings here,. but it is still a struggle and I am human..:) so thank you for the contest and when i read your book I will let you know how I made out 🙂

    • Dear Nancy,

      I am sorry to hear about your loss. You are a very brave woman and I applaud you for having the courage to share your story. Addiction is a horrible, demoralizing disease that affects not just the afflicted, but everyone it touches; parents, children, sisters, brothers. It’s hard to understand why someone would choose to destroy themselves and their families with substance abuse. Why did they leave? Why did they choose alcohol over me? What did I do wrong? Wasn’t I a good spouse? These are the questions family and friends of addicts are unfortunately left with in the wake of addiction. But it’s important to remember that addiction, like any other disease, is not really a choice. It’s an obsession; a compulsion manifested by a chemical imbalance in the central nervous system. You can’t blame yourself for your husband’s illness, just as you can’t blame yourself for something like cancer or diabetes. Your husband’s death, although horribly tragic, provides and important reminder of the viciousness of this illness.
      It’s not just coincidence you happened upon this website. I believe you are here for a very specific reason; to share your story and help other people. Perhaps, there is someone out there, like your husband, struggling with a crack addiction, wondering if they should take that first step and get treatment. Or maybe there’s a husband or a wife out there struggling with their spouse’s addiction, beating themselves up for what they perceive to be a personal failure. Whatever it is, I believe your story will inspire people still struggling with this horrible illness. And for that, I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do for you and know that you and your children will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. Pingback: Kindle Giveaway at Portraits of Addiction | Contest Corner: The Best Giveaways on The Net! | Oregon Coast Blogger

  7. Pingback: portraitsofaddiction.com (Portraits of Addiction ) - Sick Kindle Fire Giveaway :: Contests, sweepstakes, giveaways...

Leave a Reply

