John O’Brien

I’ve been saving this post for last. What can I say about John? He was a brilliant writer, a good brother, a loving son. I’m sorry this is going to be a short post, just like John’s life. He died way too young. He had so much to give this world. I never knew him but I feel like I’m repeating his fate. I feel like I know him intimately because I’m going through the same thing. I can’t tell you how much LEAVING LAS VEGAS affected me. Then BETTER and the ASSAULT ON TONY’S. I don’t want to die like John but I DO WANT TO WRITE LIKE JOHN. I hope I can last longer than JOHN and pick up where he left off. This is for John. If I can get sober I’ll do a better job with this post. It’s for John. I just don’t know if I’m going to survive this alcoholism thing. But I wanted to tell John how much I love him because I want to see him up there. John_O'Brien_(novelist)

Leave a comment